The Federal Government has ordered government officials from travelling abroad over the rampaging coronavirus pandemic.
This was the decision after the Presidential Task Force on coronavirus (PTF -COVID-19) headed by Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, had a closed-door meeting in Abuja today.
Boss Mustapha said the ban takes immediate effect.

FG bans foreign trips for Ministers, Civil servants over coronavirus

PTF-COVID19 Decisions, March 17, 2020
— The general public is strongly advised to cancel or postpone all non-essential travel – whether business or pleasure – abroad, especially to “high-risk countries.” Such high risk countries are China, Iran, South Korea, Germany, Italy, USA, UK, Switzerland, Norway, Netherlands, Spain, France and Japan.
— ALL official travel by public officials and civil servants is hereby banned “until further notice.” Approvals previously granted for such travel are accordingly rescinded.
— Everyone traveling / returning to Nigeria from abroad is urged to strictly self-isolate for 14 days in their homes. @NCDCgov has today issued guidelines for self-isolation; these will be widely publicized.
— Everyone traveling / returning to Nigeria from countries with high Community Transmission Rates (esp countries with 1,000 cumulative cases and above) will be actively followed up for 14 days by the Health Authorities.
@NigeriaGov urges the general public to maintain social distancing and avoid crowded places.
— Nigeria governmentwill continue to follow all emerging scenarios and provide updates on a continuous basis.
All of these highlights are from a just-concluded Press Conference by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Mr Boss Mustapha, who’s also the Chair of the Presidential Task Force on the Coronavirus (PTF-COVID19). The Task Force just concluded inaugural meeting.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here