List of Federal Medical Centres and Teaching Hospitals in Nigeria.

A teaching hospital or a federal medical centre means different things to different medical experts as there is now straight-forward definition for it represent.

I am going to list out its different meanings below:

A teaching hospital is a place where:

1. Sick patients are treated to recovery.

2. Medical students and undergraduate nurses are trained on clinical skills to become doctors and nurses.

3. Post graduate doctors are trained to become specialists like cardiologists, surgeons, psychiatrists etc

4. advanced medical research on diseases is conducted for the general well-being of the society

5. you can find the largest cluster of medical specialists

6. where medical, pharmacy and lab science graduates do their paid internship programme for a year.

PLEASE NOTE: A hospital must not satisfy all these criteria to be called a teaching hospital. All the teaching hospitals listed here are approved by the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MDCN)

A teaching hospital or federal medical centre may have training programmes for nurses, biomedical engineers, opticians, paramedics and so on.

In Nigeria, a teaching hospital is somewhat higher that a federal medical facility in terms of facilities and manpower but this is not always the case.

Teaching hospital came into existence when the government realised that universities are not equipped to handle the clinical training of medical students and post gradiate medical training called residency program.

It is worthy of note that in Nigeria, Federal Medical Centres are only found in states where there are no federal teaching hospitals.

Teaching hospitals in Nigeria
UCH, the foremost teaching hospital in Nigeria

A teaching hospital can be owned by the federal government, military, police, state government, private individuals, and approved religious bodies.

List of Teaching Hospitals in Nigeria

  • 48th Armed Forces Hospital, Lagos
  • 68th Armed Forces Hospital, Lagos
  • Abia State University Teaching Hospital, Aba
  • Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Teaching Hospital, Bauchi
  • Abuja Clinics, Abuja
  • Ahmadu Bello University Teaching Hospital, Zaria
  • Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital, Kano
  • Anambra State University Teaching Hospital, Amaku Awka
  • Armed Forces Hospital
  • Aso Rock Clinic
  • Babcock University Teaching Hospital
  • Baptist Medical Centre, Saki
  • Barau Dikko Specialist Hospital, Kaduna
  • Benue State University Teaching Hospital Makurdi
  • Bingham University Teaching Hospital Jos
  • Braithewaite Memorial Hospital, Port Harcourt
  • Central Hospital, Benin City
  • Dalhatu Araf Hospital, Lafia
  • Delta State University Teaching Hospital, Oghara
  • Dental Centre Complex Dugbe, Ibadan
  • Duro Soleye Hospital, Ikeja
  • Ebonyi State University Teaching Hospital, Abakaliki
  • Eko Hospital Plc, Ikeja
  • First Consultant medical centre Obalande
  • Garki Hospital, Abuja
  • General Hospital Onitsha
  • General Hospital, Ikot-Ekpene
  • General Hospital, Minna
  • General Hospital/Island Maternity/Massey Children’s Hospital, Lagos
  • Havanah Specialist Hospital Ltd, Surulere
  • Holy Rosary Hospital Emekuku
  • Igbinedion University Teaching Hospital, Okada
  • Immanuel General Hospital, Eket
  • Imo State University Teaching Hospital Orlu, Imo State
  • Jos University Teaching Hospital
  • Lagos State University Teaching Hospital, Ikeja
  • Lagos University Teaching Hospital, Idi-Araba
  • LAUTECH Teaching Hospital, Osogbo / Ogbomoso
  • Lily Hospital Warri, Delta state
  • Madonna University Teaching Hospital
  • Memphys Hospital for Neurosurgery, Enugu
  • Military Base Hospital, Benin
  • Motayo Hospital, Ikeja
  • NAF Hospital, Ikeja
  • National Hospital Abuja
  • Naval Hospital, Ojo 16
  • Niger Delta University Teaching Hospital, Okolobiri 36
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University Teaching Hosp. Nnewi
  • OAU Teaching Hospital Complex, Ile-Ife
  • Olabisi Onabanjo (Ogun State) University Teaching Hospital, Sagamu 40
  • Oriafor Medical Centre Uromi, Edo state
  • Parklane General Hospital, Enugu
  • Plateau Hospital Jos
  • Police Hospital Falomo, Lagos
  • Ring Road Specialist Hospital Complex, Ibadan.
  • Seventh-day Adventist Hospital, Ile-Ife
  • Sobi Specialist Hospital, Ilorin
  • Luke Hospital Anua
  • Nicholas Hospital, Lagos
  • State Hospital Asubiaro, Osogbo
  • State hospital Ijebu-Ode
  • State Hospital, Abeokuta
  • State Hospital, Akure
  • State House Medical Centre Abuja
  • State specialist hospital Ikere-Ekiti
  • University College Hospital, Ibadan
  • University of Abuja Teaching Hospital Gwagwalada
  • University of Benin Teaching Hospital, Benin City
  • University of Calabar Teaching Hospital
  • University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital, Ilorin
  • University of Maiduguri Teaching Hospital
  • University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital, Enugu
  • University of Port Harcourt Teaching Hospital
  • University of Uyo Teaching Hospital
  • University Teaching Hospital Ado-Ekiti
  • Usmanu Danfodio University Teaching Hospital, Sokoto
  • FCT District Hospitals:
  • Asokoro
  • Maitama
  • Wuse
  • Kubwa

List of Federal Medical Centres in Nigeria

Though Federal Medical Centres (FMC) are also teaching hospitals, I decided to separate them from others for ease of search and reading. There are 25 FMCs in Nigeria right now.

  • Federal Medical Centre Abeokuta
  • Federal Medical Centre, Abuja
  • Federal Medical Centre, Abakaliki, Ebonyi State
  • Federal Medical Centre Asaba
  • Federal Medical Centre Bida
  • Federal Medical Centre Ebute-Metta
  • Federal Medical Centre Keffi
  • Federal Medical Centre Lokoja
  • Federal Medical Centre Makurdi
  • Federal Medical Centre Owerri
  • Federal Medical Centre Owo
  • Federal Medical Centre Yenagoa
  • Federal Medical Centre Owerri
  • Federal Medical Centre Umuahia
  • Federal Teaching Hospital Abakaliki
  • Federal Teaching Hospital Ido-Ekiti
  • Federal Teaching Hospital, Gombe
  • Federal Medical Centre, Yola
  • Federal Medical Centre, Katsina
  • Federal Medical Centre, Azare, Bauchi
  • Federal Medical Centre, Birnin-Kebbi, Kebbi
  • Federal Medical Centre, Birnin-Kudu, Jigawa
  • Federal Medical Centre, Nguru, Yobe
  • Federal Medical Centre, Gusau, Zamfara State State
  • Federal Medical Centre, Jalingo, Taraba State
  • Federal Medical Centre, Gusau, Zamfara State
List of Federal Medical Centres in Nigeria
FMC Owo, one of the fmcs in Nigeria.

CAVEAT: Contrary to widespread belief, a teaching hospital is NOT a place where patients are used to do experiments for medical students. It is a misconception.

We have up to a 100 teaching hospitals in Nigeria.

Featured Images: Premium Times and TVC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here